Now, where was I?

So, four years ago I ended my campaign when my personal life fell apart. It was the right decision at the time, and I’ve used the time to get my head back on straight. Unfortunately, in that four years the trend of acrimony in government has only worsened.

Take, for example, this image from the Washington Post:

barbera-figure

In politics there are very few people in the center, because our two-party system punishes those without extreme views. In the real world, very few people hold extremist views. These people don’t have a voice.

The world isn’t black or white, but most of our politicians think it is. The Affordable Care Act, a.k.a. Obamacare, isn’t demonic and it isn’t perfect. The Republicans want to scrap the whole thing while the Democrats are afraid to let any of it be touched, and because of this, fixing any problems with it is impossible. Abortion is another issue clouded by extremism. Most people aren’t strictly pro-life or pro-choice. (Note: As a general policy I call people and groups by the names they prefer. So while some may prefer “anti-abortion” instead of “pro-life” or “pro-abortion” instead of “pro-choice,” I believe that this is needless antagonism.) My position is more middle-of-the-road, and, ironically, based on an old Christian belief that the soul enters the body at the quickening (no, geeks, not the Highlander quickening, but when the mother first feels movement). I’d be fine with unrestricted abortion until the quickening, then increasing restrictions up to full-term for extenuating circumstances like rape, incest, the mother’s health, or serious birth defects.

I am not running for Congress because I think Chuck Fleischmann is a bad guy. In many ways he’s represented Chattanooga in Congress well, and the contacts I have had with his office have been pleasant and efficient. But he’s done some things that I consider to be, well, obtuse. For example,

What’s the point of doing any of that? They don’t have enough votes to override a veto, just like the other fifty times they’ve voted to repeal Obamacare. It’s a move designed to please conservative Republican voters, not to actually do anything. It’s these sorts of shenanigans that I will avoid, and, if elected, I’ll call out my peers whenever they pull this sort of thing. The job of Congress, as I see it, is to act according to the preamble to the Constitution:

We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common defence, promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America.

Wasting Congress’ time and the people’s taxes on quixotic quests is unacceptable. Yeah, there’s a lot wrong with our government, but there are plenty of problems we can solve that aren’t–or shouldn’t be–partisan. I have plenty of ideas on how to make our country and our world better, and many of those are revenue-neutral; that is, they won’t cost us anything more than we’re already spending.

Thanks for reading. If you have any questions on my positions, my experience, or anything else about me, fire away.

Topher

Note: The posts following this are four years old. My views are probably similar, but may have changed a bit, so read with care.

Leave a comment

Filed under Abortion, Democrats, Health Care, Republicans

Leave a Reply

