President Donald Trump

Donald Trump won the election last night, which, unfortunately, didn’t surprise meĀ as much as I wish it did. I don’t like Trump, and I have made no secret of it.

trump-acceptance

Trump giving his acceptance speech last night. Photo: Mark Wilson/Getty Images

However, President-elect Trump did give a great speech last night. For example:

“Now it is time for America to bind the wounds of division, have to get together. To all Republicans and Democrats and independents across this nation, I say it is time for us to come together as one united people. It is time. I pledge to every citizen of our land that I will be President for all of Americans, and this is so important to me. For those who have chosen not to support me in the past, of which there were a few people, I’m reaching out to you for your guidance and your help so that we can work together and unify our great country.”

I was born in Kansas City, Missouri, in the Show-Me State. My request of Mr. Trump is simple:

“Show me.”

  • Show me that you will seek the guidance of those outside your coalition by appointing a Democrat or independent to your Cabinet. Obama kept Republican Robert Gates in his cabinet after his election, and they got along well enough that Obama gave Gates the Presidential Medal of Freedom on his retirement.
  • Show me that you won’t repeal Obamacare without having something in place so that people with existing conditions–I think “pre-existing conditions” is redundant–don’t get discarded by their insurers at the first opportunity.
  • Show me that you really didn’t mean it when you said you would “cancel every unconstitutional executive action, memorandum and order issued by President Obama,” but will instead review them and cancel the ones that truly need to be cancelled–and there are many, certainly.

Much of what Trump put in his “Contract with the American Voter” is good, necessary stuff. Improving our infrastructure will certainly create jobs–something that I have been wanting for a long time–but I question whether the Republican Congress will approve the spending. Properly funding and revitalizing the Veteran’s Administration is long overdue. Streamlining the business regulatory environment is also important. I don’t know how I feel about Trump’s desire to renegotiate NAFTA, but the treaty has been in effect for over twenty years, so it probably needs a tweak here and there. I think suspending immigration from ISIS zones is harsh, but if the suspension is for a very limited period while we quickly ramp up our ability to vet applicants, it might work.

There are certainly things I don’t like, such as school vouchers, the Wall, and ending defense sequestration–I think we can make due with our current budget if we detangle from Iraq and Afghanistan. If Trump can show that he’s willing to work with all sides to get things done, I think some of these can be managed to minimize collateral damage. I’m pessimistic, but hopeful. When I thought he should have tacked toward the center once he had wrapped up the nomination, he turned hard right with his pick of Mike Pence. I hope that now that he actually has the job he will mellow out his rhetoric.

Now, we wait, and give him a chance.

Leave a comment

Filed under Republicans, The Media

Leave a comment